MENU

northcarolinaportal.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


How to Perform a Driver License Address Change in North Carolina

Residents must apply for a drivers license change of address in North Carolina if they move to a new place of residence within the state, as failure to do so is a violation under the law. To change address on drivers license credentials, residents must complete the process through the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV) under the state Department of Transportation (NCDOT). After changing drivers license address, motorists must also obtain a duplicate driving credential through the NCDMV. To learn more about how to change drivers license address in NC, review the information provided below.

Instances Where a North Carolina DMV Change of Address is Required

Drivers must apply for a DMV address change in North Carolina if their address differs from the information included on their original driving license application. For instance, motorists must change drivers license address if they move to a new home and their address differs from the information on their current driver license. However, they do not need to apply for a driving license change of address or obtain a duplicate license if their address changes for any governmental action.

When to Apply for a DMV Address Change in North Carolina

Residents must apply for a drivers license change of address within 60 days of moving to a new home and changing their address. In addition to changing a drivers license address in NC, motorists must obtain a duplicate driver license within 60 days to reflect the address change. To avoid DMV change of address penalties or traffic citations, residents may notify the NCDMV of their change and obtain a duplicate driving credential online, by mail or in person.

Penalties of Not Changing Drivers License Address in North Carolina

If residents do not change the address on an NC drivers license or obtain a duplicate driving credential within 60 days of making the change, they may be subject to penalty fees, as failure to notify the NCDMV of a DMV address change is a violation of G.S. 20-7.1. As such, failure to apply for a DMV change of address may result in a traffic citation as well. Additionally, motorists who do not change the address on a driving license may not receive their driver license renewal cards or other future correspondence from the NCDMV.

Where to Change Drivers License Address in North Carolina

In most cases, residents may change address on drivers license credentials online through the NCDMV website if they are eligible to do so. To apply for an online driver license change of address in NC, motorists must meet the following requirements:

  • Have a current driver license photo on file with the NCDMV
  • Have a Social Security Number or proof of legal presence on file with the NCDMV
  • Can pay for the duplicate driver license online with a Discover, MasterCard or Visa credit card

If motorists cannot apply for a North Carolina DMV change of address online, they must visit a Driver License Office to obtain a duplicate license in person or they may notify the NCDMV of their address change by mail.

How to Change Drivers License Address in North Carolina Online

If eligible, residents may apply for a DMV North Carolina address change online through the NCDMV website. When changing a driving license address online, applicants must complete the process using the DMV Online Services Duplicate Driver License Request portal, where motorists can submit their application for an address change and obtain a replacement driving credential at the same time. When applying for a drivers license address change online, motorists must provide the following information:

  • Driver license or identification card number
  • Social Security Number, U.S. Visa number or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
  • A valid email address
  • Credit card payment information

After applying for a drivers license change of address, the NCDMV sends applicants a confirmation receipt via email. To avoid receiving North Carolina DMV change of address penalties or citations, drivers must retain this receipt until their duplicate driving credential arrives in the mail.

How to Apply for a DMV Address Change in North Carolina by Mail

If residents cannot apply for a drivers license change of address online or in person, they may notify the NCDMV of their address change by mail. When changing an NC drivers license address by mail, applicants must complete a Notice of Change of Address Required Within 60 Days (MVR-24A) and mail it to the following address:

NC Division of Motor Vehicles

3148 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27697-3148

After completing the North Carolina DMV change of address form, motorists must also apply for a duplicate driving license through the NCDMV within 60 days.

It might also interest you: