is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

North Carolina Traffic School

Attending DMV traffic school in North Carolina is often a requirement after motorists accumulate more than seven points on their driving records. Motorists generally need to attend traffic school after receiving convictions for certain motor vehicle violations, including aggressive or reckless driving, as traffic training teaches motorists how to be a safer motor vehicle operator. After successful completion of a driver improvement course, motorists receive a three-point reduction in driving record demerit points. Furthermore, drivers may complete a voluntary driving course if they wish to brush up on current motor vehicle laws and improve their skills as a motorist, or if they wish to remove several points from their traffic records. To learn more about completing a defensive driving course in NC, including the benefits of enrolling in a class, review the information below.

North Carolina DMV Traffic School Requirements

Driving classes are available to all motorists in the state, even those who wish to complete a voluntarytraffic training course to remove points from their driver record. Motorists can generally complete a driver improvement course in one four-hour session. When motorists attend traffic school and receive a certificate of completion at the end of the course, they will receive a three-point reduction on their driving records, helping them to avoid possible driver license suspensions or revocations. Furthermore, motorists may complete a North Carolina defensive driving class once every five years if they wish to remove points from their traffic records. In some cases, attending traffic school online or in a classroom setting may help drivers to reduce their automobile insurance premiums as well. However, this depends on the specific insurance company and whether the provider offers safe driver discounts.

Furthermore, driving lessons in NC are often a requirement after motorists accumulate seven or more points on their traffic records. If motorists do not complete a driving course after committing certain moving violations, they risk losing their driver license. For instance, the following traffic violations result in demerit point accumulation:

  • Passing a stopped school bus – 5 points (or 8 points while operating a commercial vehicle)
  • Aggressive driving – 5 points (or 6 points while driving a commercial vehicle)
  • Reckless driving – 4 points (or 5 points while driving commercial vehicles)

After committing offenses such as these, a defensive driver class may be a requirement if a court or license hearing officer mandates it, or if motorists wish to reduce their chances of losing their driving privileges. Additionally, the traffic lesson may cover an eight-hour session rather than four, depending on the severity of the motor vehicle violation. If motorists do not complete a traffic course, they may lose their driving privileges for 60 days (for the first offense), six months (for the second offense) or 12 months (for the third offense). After motorists reinstate their license, the NCDMV removes all points from their driving records.

Note: If motorists wish to attend driving school in NC to remove points from their traffic records, or if they wish to avoid a driver license suspension or revocation, they must meet with a license hearing officer prior to course enrollment to determine their eligibility.

North Carolina Traffic School Enrollment

If motorists wish to complete a traffic training course, or if the state requires them to do so, they must review the driver improvement clinic schedule under the state Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV). These affordable traffic school courses receive approval from the School Bus and Traffic Safety Section under the state Department of Transportation (NCDOT) and are taught by Driver Education Program Specialists. To enroll in an NC driver improvement course, students must contact the School Bus and Traffic Safety Section in Raleigh. Students cannot contact DMV traffic school instructors directly. Additionally, drivers must pay for their driving lessons via cash, personal check, money order or credit card prior to the date of the class. In most cases, students need to submit payment directly to the NCDMV. When students attend their drivers training session, they must present a paid receipt and a driving license or photo ID. Students cannot take the defensive driving course unless they can provide a receipt on the day of the class.

Note: In some cases, students may enroll in online driving school rather than completing traffic lessons in a classroom setting. However, online traffic school in NC may not be available to all students, depending on the severity of the moving violation. If the court orders motorists to complete a driving improvement course, they must check with the court to verify whether online driver classes are acceptable.

What will I learn in a North Carolina driver improvement course?

When motorists attend a driving school in North Carolina, they learn important strategies pertaining to safe motor vehicle practices and current traffic laws. For this reason, driving courses are beneficial to all motorists, regardless of whether the court orders them to complete a traffic lesson or not. For instance, traffic school covers the following topics:

  • Current North Carolina driving laws, including DWI and seat belt regulations
  • The consequences of driving a vehicle while impaired by drugs and/or alcohol
  • The state’s driving record point system and the consequences of accumulating more than 12 points in a three-year period
  • Safe driving practices
  • Defensive driving

In addition to attending traffic school in NC, drivers can review the NCDMV Driver’s Handbook to learn more about local driving laws and violations.

How much is traffic school in North Carolina?

Defensive driving courses in North Carolina are generally $65 for one four-hour class. However, driver improvement course fees may be higher if motorists need to complete a longer session for committing more serious traffic violations. Additionally, students must pay for the DMV driving lesson before attending the class, as proof of payment is a requirement on the day of the course. Furthermore, it is important to remember that defensive driving classes are much more affordable in comparison to the cost of court charges and driver license restoration fees.