MENU

northcarolinaportal.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


SR22 Insurance in North Carolina

SR22 in North Carolina is not a requirement after motorists receive a driver license suspension, revocation or a drunk driving conviction. However, motorists who file an sr22 form in another state may need to maintain their SR22 insurance policy if they move to the state of North Carolina, as many other parts of the country do require high-risk drivers to maintain proof of coverage. If drivers do need to obtain an SR-22 insurance policy, they may compare quotes online or through their current insurance provider. In addition to these SR-22 requirements, motorists must meet the state’s minimum amount of liability insurance requirements, as proof of financial responsibility is a requirement when applying for a driver license or registering a vehicle in the state. To learn more about how to get sr22 insurance in a state that does require the filing of an SR-22 form after receiving a driver license suspension or revocation, review the information below.

What is North Carolina SR22 insurance?

Motorists do not need to file a sr22 form in North Carolina if they lose their driving credentials and wish to reinstate them with the state Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV), as proof of financial responsibility filing (or SR22) is not a requirement under state law. SR-22 insurance (or proof of safety responsibility) is not a requirement if motorists wish to reinstate a driver license in North Carolina, even though many other states do require it. However, motorists who file an SR22 form in another state may need to maintain proof of safety responsibility in that state, even if they move to North Carolina.

Who needs SR22 insurance in North Carolina?

North Carolina SR22 insurance is not available, but drivers may need to file an sr-22 form if they move to another state and receive a conviction for a traffic violation. For instance, drivers may need to obtain SR-22 insurance in another state for reasons such as the following:

  • Reinstating a driver license after a suspension or revocation
  • Failing to pay judgements
  • Receiving a DWI or a second reckless driving conviction
  • Driving without proof of automobile insurance

While North Carolina SR-22 insurance is not available to motorists in the state, drivers do need to meet the NCDMV’s minimum financial responsibility laws. Residents must purchase an insurance policy that includes $30,000 for the injuries of one person per collision, $60,000 for all personal injuries per crash and $25,000 for all property damages per accident.

How much are SR-22 rates in North Carolina?

North Carolina SR22 insurance is not a requirement under state law. If motorists need to obtain sr22 insurance in a state that does require proof of financial responsibility filing, they may compare SR22 insurance quotes online before purchasing a policy from their current provider. However, it is important to remember that SR-22 rates often vary by insurance provider and the personal driving record of the motorist. In general, sr22 rates are higher if drivers have previous convictions on their traffic records. Additionally, drivers who file an sr22 form may need to pay a nominal application fee. To obtain accurate sr22 quotes and rates, motorists must contact their insurance provider for additional information.

Penalties of Not Meeting North Carolina SR22 Requirements

Drivers do not need to maintain SR22 insurance in North Carolina, unless they receive a driver license suspension or revocation in a state that does require the filing of an sr-22 form (such as Texas, New Hampshire, Washington or Tennessee). If motorists do need to obtain an SR-22 insurance policy, they must file an sr22 form if they wish to reinstate their driving credentials. If they do not file an SR-22 certificate, they will not be able to reinstate their driver license.

What are the consequences of filing an sr22 form in North Carolina?

SR-22 insurance in North Carolina is not a requirement after motorists lose their driving credentials due to a license suspension, revocation or DWI conviction. However, motorists do need to file an sr-22 form in many other states, including Tennessee and Texas. If drivers do need to file an SR22 certificate in any other state that requires it, they may need to maintain proof of safety responsibility even after they leave or move to the state. Additionally, motorists who need to meet SR-22 requirements must maintain proof of safety responsibility for the entire length of their term. In some cases, drivers may need to maintain an sr-22 certificate for a total of five years. If motorists do not meet these SR22 insurance requirements, they may lose their driving credentials.

It might also interest you: